At first glance, you wouldn’t suspect any animal products to be contained within a cannabidiol item. After all, CBD is derived from the cannabis plant and is, by nature, vegan. While most carriers of CBD are vegan, there can be some iffy ingredients used in, say, capsules. Find out just what is in your CBD products before enjoying them.
Straight From the Vial
The best way to ensure your CBD product of choice is vegan is to use a tincture. The cannabidiol is extracted from the hemp plant and then diluted in a carrier oil. The carrier oil is usually coconut, olive, or hemp seed oil. CBDfx makes organic, vegan CBD oil. As long as you find a reputable retailer, you really can’t go wrong.
The best CBD oil is straight from the vial, without any unnecessary additives. You can usually use vegan forms of this as tinctures, meaning you use the dropper to place the oil and alcohol mixture directly under your tongue. There are other means of administering CBD oil, but this is where you have to start being careful and looking for non-vegan ingredients.
Within Food and Drink
There are a variety of premade foods and drinks available that include CBD oil. This is a popular way to ingest CBD. You can also add a few drops of oil to food or drinks that you are already making, such as:
- Pudding (Jell-O brand is surprisingly vegan)
- Baked goods
As long as the recipe doesn’t call for any animal products, you are good to go. For instance, at a cafe that adds CBD to its lattes, make sure you request soy, almond, or oat milk. Brownies also almost always have eggs, so make sure to adjust as necessary. Otherwise, CBD oil in edible forms is a popular way to go for vegan and non-vegan patrons, alike.
Capsules, however, are often made of gelatin that is derived from animal parts. The outer shell has to encapsulate the inner oil, and it is often non-vegan. If you prefer to use CBD oil in capsule form, make sure you find a vegan alternative. The shells can be starch-based in lieu of gelatin.
As Vape Juice
Generally, the juice that you put in vape pens is vegan. However, some flavor additives can contain non-vegan ingredients. For example, castoreum is used in synthetic vanilla and raspberry flavorings, and it is derived from beaver glands. Usually, you can look for organic flavors. Most vape juice does not include anything that isn’t made of vegetables, plants, or fruits. Just make sure you are buying your juice from a reputable seller with the purest CBD mixture available to avoid lung issues and the like.
In Cosmetics and Creams
Rising in popularity are CBD-infused cosmetics and creams. If you’re a strict vegan that aims to remove all traces of animal products from your life, you’ll want to check the ingredients in your cosmetic cabinet. Cruelty-free and vegan makeup and skincare are easy to find these days because it is more in-demand than ever. If you’re investing in your skin, invest in CBD cosmetics and creams that don’t contain animal products or test on animals. Do your research to see what is vegan and what is not in the cosmetic industry. Sometimes, cosmetics and skincare can include animal products such as:
- Animal fats
- Carmine (crushed bugs for a red pigment)
The Best Way To Find Vegan CBD
Non-vegan ingredients can hide in unexpected places. This article isn’t even an all-inclusive list. In order to be fully sure that the vehicle for your CBD is vegan, go with a reputable seller. Always read the ingredients list. Usually, it’s easiest to trust a product that says vegan or plant-based right in the name.
It’s also important to decide what aspects of veganism are important to you. Depending on the strictness of your vegan lifestyle, you can be a bit lenient with ingredients like beeswax or carmine. However, there are plenty of options available if you are looking to avoid all animal and insect products. Check the information on how a product is manufactured to get the real scoop. If a company isn’t transparent, look elsewhere. Go forth and use your powerful CBD without sacrificing your vegan values.